Creative Canvas January

This is a post that should’ve been done a while ago. Last month to be precise. Much like most of my posts however, it can take a while before it’s actually published. The post is a new feature for the blog. It’s about my activities each month. What I get up to and so forth. The idea derived from the fact that I would like to take note of the things I do in a creative way. It’s not just because I have white canvases bought from a while ago that have collected nothing but dust.

I created a collage using images and photos I took in the month of January. Each photo represents something. There were highs and lows. The one low of the month is represented in the question ‘What is epilepsy?’. A friend of mine passed away at the start of the year. He had epilepsy. It was such a shock to find out he had died only after celebrating the New Years at a Church party the day before. At only 19, he reminded me of life’s fragility.

The photo of me in the middle sitting down took place at Tower Bridge. As a Londoner, I take living in the city for granted so I’ve decided to try to go to a London sight I’ve either never been to or haven’t been to for a while once a month. One of the perks of working in a tourist sight is that opportunities to visit other sights come by, that’s what happened here. I got invited to go on a tour at Tower Bridge. So I took it with both hands. The ‘I DID IT’ and surrounding London views are images also attached to the Tower Bridge visit.

The tennis player on the left is named Chung Hyeon. Chung was a phenomenon at the Australian Open. A major tennis tournament. At only 18, he reached the semi-finals. He lost out to the legend Roger Federer. I enjoy watching tennis, especially the grand slam tournaments (biggest competitions in tennis), so seeing someone have a break-through tournament was a pleasant experience.

The drawing of a chair happened at work during my break. I’ve learned to take a sketchpad everywhere. Helps the creative juices flow. The ice-cream was a day out with a friend. It really was delicious. The column on the right was an article read from The Guardian newspaper. I would like to increase my general knowledge so I decided to start reading newspapers, apart from the ordinary ones. So I chose The Guardian.

So there you have it. My January activities in a nutshell.

Leave a comment